Pakistan by-elections 2022: Initial results show ousted PM Imran Khan’s PTI in control

People gather at an election camp in NA 108 Faisalabad.–Photo courtesy Aliya Hamza Malik (Twitter)

ISLAMABAD — Unofficial results of by-elections in various constituencies of National Assembly and Punjab Assembly have started pouring in.

On Sunday, by-elections were held in eight constituencies of the National Assembly and three constituencies of the Punjab Assembly. People cast their votes from 8:00am to 5:00pm and counting of votes began immediately after 5:00pm.

Shortly after completion of the voting process, results started pouring in. According to initial and unofficial results, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) of ousted prime minister Imran Khan is leading the race for the National Assembly and Punjab Assembly seats. Khan himself is contesting by-elections in seven of the eight National Assembly constituencies.

Here are the constituencies where by-elections are being held today: NA 22 Mardan 3, NA 24 Charsadda 2, NA 31 Peshawar 5, NA 108 Faisalabad 8, NA 118 Nankana Sahib 2, NA 157 Multan 4, NA 237 Karachi Malir 2, NA 239 Karachi Korangi, PP 139 Sheikhupura 5, PP 209 Khanewal 7 and PP 241 Bahawalnagar 5.

The by-election in the NA 45 (tribal area seat) has been postponed due to a law and order situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *