Islamabad United eliminate Karachi Kings from race for PSL 7 title

Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by one run in the 21st match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 7) at Lahore's Qaddafi Stadium on Monday night.–Photo Courtesy PSL Twitter

Islamabad United beat the hapless Karachi Kings by one run in one of the most thrilling matches of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 7) at Lahore’s Qaddafi Stadium on Monday night.

With this seventh defeat in a row in this season of the PSL, Karachi Kings were eliminated from the race for this year’s title.

When put to bat first in the 21st match of the ongoing PSL 7 season, Islamabad United scored 191 runs at the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. Their batsmen Shadab Khan scored 34 runs off 26 balls, Faheem Ashraf 29 runs off 10 balls and Asif Ali 28 runs off 11 balls.

Demoralised Karachi Kings bowlers failed to make their mark even in the most crucial game of the season on Monday. Their bowlers Imad Wasim took two wickets and conceded 30 runs in four overs, Jordan Thompson took one wicket and conceded 22 runs in two overs and Mir Hamza took one wicket and conceded 31 runs in four overs.

Chasing the 192-run target set by Islamabad United, Karachi Kings needed just two runs on the last ball to win the game, but they failed to score that vital run and ended their inning at 190 runs at the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs.

Karachi Kings batsmen Imad Wasim scored 55 runs off 28 balls, Qasim Akram 51 runs off 26 balls and Sharjeel Khan 44 runs off 29 balls.

Islamabad United bowlers Waqas Maqsood took three wickets and conceded 34 runs in four overs, Asif Ali took two wickets and conceded 27 runs in three overs and Zeeshan Zameer took one wicket and conceded 10 runs in 1.3 overs.

Earlier, Karachi Kings had won the toss and decided to bowl first.


Karachi Kings: Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nabi, Joe Clarke, Sharjeel Khan, Aamer Yamin, Chris Jordan, Lewis Gregory, Umaid Asif, Ian Cockbain, Rohail Nazir, Muhammad Imran, Faisal Akram, Qasim Akram, Talha Ahsan, Tom Lammonby, Usman Shinwari, Sahibzada Farhan, Jordan Thompson and Mohammad Taha Khan

Islamabad United: Asif Ali, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Alex Hales, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Azam Khan, Colin Munro, Marchant de Lange, Muhammad Akhlaq, Danish Aziz, Zafar Gohar, Mubasir Khan, M. Zeeshan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ather Mehmood, Musa Khan, Zahir Khan, Mohammad Huraira and Liam Dawson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *